terewturkey.blogg.se

Rtty machine
Rtty machine












rtty machine
  1. #Rtty machine full#
  2. #Rtty machine code#

See the seller's listing for full details. Packaging should be the same as what is found in a retail store, unless the item is handmade or was packaged by the manufacturer in non-retail packaging, such as an unprinted box or plastic bag. I knew then that I did not have the room for it at home, and being married at the time with one daughter did not help the situation any either.A brand-new, unused, unopened, undamaged item in its original packaging (where packaging isĪpplicable). All I would have had to do was to haul it out to my car and load it up.īelieve me, I tossed and turned in my sleep for a couple nights but I said no more RTTY for me and I never looked back. It was still in the original boxes and had never been installed by the U.S. It had the perforator/ reperforator, page printer, power supply and the whole kit and kaboodle. It was a lot of fun then, but I rapidly lost interest in it after I left Millington, Tennessee, which will be 42 years ago this coming Monday.īack when I was in college, I was offered a complete and brand new or actually NOS Kleinschmidt setup. HI! I was either working DX on 20 CW or piddling with RTTY.

rtty machine

While I was at W4ODR, I built several different TU units and thought I used up all the 6W6 tubes. Yeah, all my interest died when ASCII took over the baudot code. (Connoisseur of the cold 807) CW forever! I could hammer away those stiff keys faster than that and cause the machines to jam up! Now I could not do that if I tried.Ī lot of memories on my part that I promise will NOT EVER be repeated! The most standard speed was 60 words per minute. Then you could send it to anybody who was RTTY equipped. If I remember correctly, a reel eight inches in diameter would contain a Playboy Playmate. If you are not saving it, you simply type away on the keyboard and the receiving setup will print it out.

#Rtty machine code#

You start it up and press the keys on the keyboard and it punches the tape with the proper code in holes. This machine has the tape perforator, so you feed a long paper tape into it about 5/8" wide and about 119 miles long. When it is done over radio it is called Radio Teletype or RTTY. I see that picture and it brings back lots of memories, mostly bad, of sitting in the non-airconditioned RTTY room at W4ODR sending and receiving pictures, usually the latest Playboy Playmate Centerfold with all the xxx and so on.Īndy- it is a teletype machine and is called teletype when used over land lines. Oh Gawd, Jim did it again! Been 42 years since I played with one of them. Last edited by Chas on Aug 11:39 pm, edited 1 time in total. There is a support group for RTTY enthusiasts, called GREENKEYS. I used all this gear with a Globe transmitter and a Hammarlund SP-110-X receiver. I still have all my machines and spare parts. The 11/16" wide paper tape can be spliced into endless loops or joined for continuous messages. I added a 14 typing repeforator so I could copy messages directly to tape and re- transmit the message using the 14 TD at full speed. When my Amateur station was up, I use a model 19 Teletype which has the keyboard perforator and printer and a 14TD. Tape can be chaded or chad-less, meaning the tape is punched with clean through holes or if a typing reperforator is used to receive that message, the tape would be punched chad-less, the holes are not punched through but are held in place with flaps or "lids" so the the type characters can be read on the tape. The tape is generated ether by a keyboard punch or a typing or non-typing re-perforator. It reads the 5-level oiled, perforated tape that is encoded with baudot code in the form of punched holes.














Rtty machine